Home Page
Steele Creek News
About The Residents Association
About Steele Creek
Other Organizations and Sites
Message Board
Steele Creek Community Trail
Steele Creek Library Association
Rezoning in Steele Creek
Steele Creek in Local News Media
Maps of Steele Creek
Local Government
Contact Us


General Assembly Districts Will Change for the 2018 Election

Vote!(March 29, 2018) The boundaries for the North Carolina General Assembly districts will change for the 2018 election after federal courts ruled the districts adopted in 2011 were illegally racially gerrymandered.

In the two State Senate and two State House districts covering Steele Creek, only one has a primary on May 8. House District 88 has two Republican candidates. All other races have only one candidate for each party and thus will not have primaries. Election Day is Tuesday, November 6. See Mecklenburg Candidate Listing for a complete list of General Assembly candidates with contact information.

The North Carolina General Assembly adopted new districts in August 2017. These were later confirmed by federal courts.

Congressional Districts Congressional Districts

Steele Creek is split between two new State Senate Districts: 37 and 41. Precincts 138, 147, and 228 are in Senate District 37. Precincts 122, 200, 229, and 243 are in Senate District 41. Precinct 230 is split, with most of Berewick and other areas south of Shopton Road in District 41 and the remaining area of Precinct 230 north of Shopton Road in District 37.

In Senate District 37, voters will choose between Democratic Incumbent Jeff Jackson and Republican Nora Trotman on Election Day, November 6. In Senate District 41, voters will choose between Democrat Natasha Marcus and Republican Incumbent Jeff Tarte.

Steele Creek is split between two new State House Districts: 88 and 92. Precincts 200, and 230 are in House District 88. Precincts 122, 138, 147, 228, 229, and 243 are in House District 92.

In House District 88, Republican voters will choose between two candidates in the May 8 Primary: Benton Blaine and Ty Turner. The winner of the Primary will face Democratic Incumbent Mary Belk in the November 6 General Election. In House District 92, voters will choose between Democratic Incumbent Chaz Beasley and Republican Debbie Ware in November.

Voters should be aware of what district they live in for each race so that they are familiar with the candidates for those districts and are prepared to cast their votes.

Current Legislative Districts

Note that the current state legislators were elected in the districts originally adopted in 2011 and will continue to represent those districts until the new legislators elected in November take their seats in January 2019.

North Carolina Senate

Most of Steele Creek is in current Senate District 37, which is represented by Democrat Jeff Jackson. Precinct 147 is in current Senate District 38 and is represented by Democrat Joel Ford.

  State Senate Districts

North Carolina House of Representatives

Most Steele Creek is in current State House District 92, which is represented by Democrat Chaz Beasley. Precinct 147 and parts of Precincts 122, 138, 228, and 230 (including Ayrsley, the Westinghouse industrial corridor, and Steele Creek subdivision) is in current House District 102, which is represented by Democrat Becky Carney.

  State House Districts

Voters may request absentee ballots for the May 8 primary now. Early voting begins on Friday, April 27 at 11130 S Tryon St (the former Hollywood Video in York Ridge Shopping Center). See the Early Voting Schedule. Voters must go to their regular precinct polling location if they vote on Primary Day, May 8. 

Precinct  78  - Polling Location: Aldersgate United Methodist Church
Precinct 122 - Polling Location: Good Shepherd United Methodist Church
Precinct 138 - Polling Location: Olympic High School
Precinct 147 - Polling Location: E. E. Waddell Language Academy
Precinct 200 - Polling Location: Berryhill Baptist Church
Precinct 228 - Polling Location: Kennedy Middle School
Precinct 229 - Polling Location: Christ the King Lutheran Church
Precinct 230 - Polling Location: Steele Creek Presbyterian Church
Precinct 243 - Polling Location: Pleasant Hill Presbyterian Church

For more information about the 2018 primary and general election in Mecklenburg County, see Mecklenburg County Board of Elections.

To comment on this story, please visit the Steele Creek Forum or the Steele Creek Residents Association Facebook Page.

Click here: Facebook to share this story to your Facebook page, or click below to visit the Steele Creek Residents Association Facebook page.