Home Page
Steele Creek News
About The Residents Association
Rezoning in Steele Creek
About Steele Creek
Maps of Steele Creek
Local Government
Other Organizations and Sites
Contact Us





Visit the City of Charlotte Home Page for information on Charlotte departments and services. Visit the Mecklenburg County Home Page for information on Mecklenburg County departments and services.

View Charlotte City Council and Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners meetings online!

Go to View City Council Meetings or View Board of County Commissioners Meetings.

City of Charlotte

Most of the area and population of Steele Creek is within the Charlotte city limits. Charlotte provides all municipal services within the corporate limits and administers certain other functions within the remaining unincorporated area, including planning and zoning, water and sewer, and police.
All of the area of Steele Creek within the city limits is within City Council District 3. 

The City Council typically meets on Mondays at the Charlotte Mecklenburg Government Center, 600 E. Fourth Street. Meetings are broadcast on The Government Channel on Spectrum Channel 16.

Visit the City Council web page for information on members and meetings.

View Rezoning Petitions submitted for review and approval by the Charlotte City Council.

Mecklenburg County

Mecklenburg County departments and the Board of County Commissioners service many community needs, especially those related to health, education, welfare, mental health, and the environment. Core service areas include land use and environmental services, health and human services, and community services, including parks, libraries, and elections. The Board of County Commissioners sets the tax rate for Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools. The Clerk of Court, Register of Deeds, and Sheriff are elected separately from the County Commissioners.

Regular Meetings are held every first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Meeting Chamber of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Government Center.  Meetings are broadcast on The Government Channel on Spectum Channel 16.

Budget/Public Policy Workshops are held every second Tuesday of each month at 3:00 p.m. in Conference Center Room 267 of the CMGC (2nd floor). Steele Creek is split between County Commissioner Districts 2 and 6. See Steele Creek Area Commissioner Districts Map.

Visit the County Commission web page for information on members and meetings.

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools (CMS) serves over 146,000 students in Mecklenburg County.
Nine schools are located in Steele Creek: Olympic High School, Kennedy Middle School, Southwest Middle School, Berewick Elementary School, Lake Wylie Elementary School, Palisades Park Elementary School, River Gate Elementary School, Steele Creek Elementary School, and Winget Park Elementary School.

In 2005 Olympic High School was split into five smaller schools but will be consolidated back into a single high school for the 2018-2019 academic year.

The Steele Creek commuity generally corresponds to the attendance area for Olympic High School and its feeder middle and elementary schools.

All of Steele Creek is within Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education District 2.

The regular Board meetings of the Board of Education are on the 2nd and 4th Tuesdays of each month. Meetings are broadcast on CMS-TV3. Visit the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools web page for more information.

Visit individual school web page 

Charlotte Mecklenburg Customer Service and Information Center

Dial 311 to reach the City/County Customer Service and Information Center or go to the
Charlotte Mecklenburg 311 web page.

Go to TOP