Home Page
Steele Creek News
About The Residents Association
About Steele Creek
Other Organizations and Sites
Message Board
Steele Creek Community Trail
Steele Creek Library Association
Rezoning in Steele Creek
Steele Creek in Local News Media
Maps of Steele Creek
Local Government
Contact Us


Mayor, City Council, School Board Races are on the 2015 Election Ballot

Vote!(October 19, 2015) One stop early voting for the 2015 General Election begins at the Steele Creek Library (13620 Steele Creek Road) on Saturday, October 24 and continues through Saturday, October 31. Hours are 10:00 AM to 7:00 PM on Monday through Friday, 10:00 AM to 1:00 PM on Saturdays, and 1:00 PM to 4:00 PM on Sunday.

Click HERE or on the image below to view a list and map of the other sixteen early voting locations in Mecklenburg County along with the election schedule.

Vote! Voters will not be required to show identification until the 2016 elections. Eligible individuals may register to vote during the early voting period. Although the North Carolina General Assembly eliminated same day registrations during early voting, this and other provisions of 2013 legislation that tend to limit voting opportunities are subject to ongoing litigation in federal court.

Charlotte voters may vote in the elections for Charlotte mayor and for at-large and district city council seats. All Mecklenburg County voters may vote in the election for Charlotte-Mecklenburg School Board at-large seats.

Voters who do not participate in early voting can vote at their precincts on Election Day, Tuesday, November 3.

Candidates on ballots in Steele Creek precincts are:

Mayor of Charlotte

    Jennifer Roberts, Democrat
    Edwin B. Peacock III, Republican

Charlotte City Council At-Large (4 seats)

    Julie Eiselt, Democrat
    Claire Green Fallon, Democrat (Incumbent)
    Vi Lyles, Democrat (Incumbent)
    James (Smuggie) Mitchell, Democrat
    Pablo Carvajal, Republican
    John K. Powell, Jr., Republican
    David Michael Rice, Republican

Charlotte City Council District 3

    LaWana Mayfield, Democrat (Incumbent)
    Eric Wayne Netter, Republican

All of the parts of Steele Creek that are within the Charlotte city limits are within Charlotte City Council District 3. For information on candidates in other districts, see Mecklenburg County Board of Elections.

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education At-Large

School Board district and at-large representatives are elected every two years on a rotating schedule. All members serve four-year terms. The six District representatives were chosen in the November 2013 election. The three at-large representatives are up for election in 2015. School Board elections are non-partisan.

Candidates for the three seats are:

   Angela Ambroise
   Janeen Bryant
   Larry Bumgarner
   Elyse Dashew
   Erica Ellis-Stewart (Incumbent)
   Levester Flowers
   Mary T. McCray (Incumbent)
   Jeremy Stephenson
   Amelia Stinson-Wesley

Mecklenburg County Referendum

Additionally, the following referendum will be on the ballot:

      Shall the structure of the Board of Commissioners be altered to change
      from two-year terms of office to four-year terms of office?

Charlotte City Council Districts

The map above shows election precinct boundaries, numbers, and polling locations in Steele Creek. See maps of election districts in Steele Creek on the following page: Election Districts in Steele Creek.

To verify your registration status, view sample ballots, and for more information about the 2015 elections in Mecklenburg County, see Mecklenburg County Board of Elections.

To comment on this story, please visit the Steele Creek Forum.

Click here: Facebook to share this story to your Facebook page, or click below to visit the Steele Creek Residents Association Facebook page.