Home Page
Steele Creek News
About The Residents Association
About Steele Creek
Other Organizations and Sites
Message Board
Steele Creek Community Trail
Steele Creek Library Association
Rezoning in Steele Creek
Steele Creek in Local News Media
Maps of Steele Creek
Local Government
Contact Us


Election Districts Adopted for Use Beginning with the 2012 Elections

(November 20, 2011) Beginning with the November 2012 elections, voters nationwide will be electing representatives to various bodies using new election districts delineated based on 2010 census counts. Redistricting is necessary after each census to ensure that each district contains approximately the same number of residents.

On the maps below, election precinct boundaries and numbers are shown in red and Steele Creek is outlined in green. To view County Commission and School Board districts for all of Mecklenburg County or for Congressional and State legislative districts for all of North Carolina, open the Mecklenburg County Election Districts map in ArcGIS Explorer. The initial map displayed shows School Board districts. Click and drag on the map to pan. Turn the mouse scroll wheel to zoom in and out. Click on the layers icon on the left to see a list of layers and to turn them on and off. Other available layers are Congress, North Carolina Senate, North Carolina House, and Commissioner Districts.

Mecklenburg County Commission

On July 28 the North Carolina General Assembly passed House Bill 719, which establishes new districts for the Mecklenburg Board of County Commissioners, bypassing the County Commission, which had established a process for delineating the districts.

As expected, Steele Creek is no longer entirely within District 2. Two Steele Creek precincts along the South Carolina border (122 and 229) were transferred from District 2 to District 6. Some proposals had more Steele Creek precincts being shifted, so the impact on Steele Creek is not as much as it could have been.

Mecklenburg County Commissioner Districts

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education

The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education adopted new districts at its meeting on September 27, 2011. Traditionally the School Board and County Commission have coordinated redistricting and adopted the same districts. Since the General Assembly removed the County Commission from the process, the School Board did not have an opportunity for input in or coordination with the County Commission districts and adopted a separate set of districts.

School Board district and at-large representatives are elected every two years on a rotating schedule. All members serve four-year terms. Representatives for the three at large seats were chosen in the November 2011 election. The six district representatives will be up for election again in November 2013.

Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education Districts

United States Congress

The General Assembly adopted new congressional districts on July 28, 2011. These have been challenged by several lawsuits and are subject to change.

Congressional Districts

North Carolina Senate

The General Assembly adopted new state senate districts on July 27, 2011. These have been challenged by several lawsuits and are subject to change.

North Carolina Senate Districts

North Carolina House of Representatives

The General Assembly adopted new state house districts on July 28, 2011. These have been challenged by several lawsuits and are subject to change.

North Carolina House Districts

To comment on this story, please visit the Steele Creek Forum.

Click here: Facebook to share this story to your Facebook page, or click below to visit the Steele Creek Residents Association Facebook page.